The Times They Are A-Changin’

It’s been a rocky couple of months for us. The real estate world…let’s just say, it hasn’t been as thriving as we all would’ve hoped. The Washington Post recently did an article on how unemployment stabilized in the DC area this month. Although seemingly positive, unfortunately, at the very end of the article, there’s a brief mention of the lackluster numbers in the commercial real estate arena, as demonstrated by the recent layoffs that at our firm. It’s not just us (fortunately or unfortunately); the president of the AIA, the American Institute of Architects, addressed the issue directly and the AIA itself even developed a website titled Navigating the Economy because things have been so dire. If we’re going to be miserable, it’s comforting to know none of us have to be miserable alone.

It hit a closer to home for me as I was told that I’d be partially shifting roles. Due to the staff adjustments, we no longer can sustain having 2 people in HR full-time. It’s actually a positive thing, because people in my office went out of their way to save me, adding different hats to the mix of what I do. I’m now half-time HR and half-time marketing. The new part of my job is in Business Development and will have me doing market research and analysis as well as administrative tasks, designed to help organize ourselves as we attempt to be the masters of our fate and win new projects.

The change leaves me with a combination of excitement and paranoid pessimism. Honestly, it’s really an incredible opportunity and it exposes me to a side of our business that I’m not as familiar with. Plus it gives me more contact with our stellar marketing crew, including Mr. 100 Percent Overhead. The fact that they moved me into this means that they’re trying to do what they can to keep me around. But in creeps the paranoia because it means that at any time the other shoe could drop and who knows where we stand. But then again, that’s true of everyone right now in any industry. Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful and thankful to have a job, especially at a place that I love working (and no, I’m not really sure if anyone I work with actually reads this…I sincerely mean it). All I’m saying is that this scares the crap out of me – and frankly, I think that’s a normal, honest reaction.

But enough about me. How are things looking for you? Is your industry holding steady? Are you nervous? Like I mentioned before, if we’re going to miserable, it’s much better to be miserable together – so let’s share in that, or be excited for the people who have something to cheer about!

2 responses to “The Times They Are A-Changin’

  1. Pingback: We’re All In This Together « The HR Intern

  2. You’re right – none of us are alone in this. It’s a risky time for all of us, esp overhead folks. But nice to know that you can put on other hats – which you are totally capable of doing – and ride this out. I think i see light on the horizon…

Leave a Reply

