Unplugged

Being obsessed with all things social media is fun. I don’t need to go into much detail – I’m writing this on a blog, after all. But one of the hardest things for a social media lover to do is to unplug and put some distance between technology and the rest of life.

Going on vacation to a place that you don’t necessarily have the Internet (travelling around in Guatemala in my case) makes it easier – it makes the decision for you. Yes, I did take a Blackberry so I was somewhat plugged into e-mail. I didn’t read most of them, but I checked in every now and then in case there was something I had to get to. I went onto Facebook and Twitter a few times to let people know I was still alive. I didn’t look at anything besides my @ replies – while I was trying to turn off, I didn’t want to be rude by ignoring people.

The thing of it is, as much emphasis we place on staying connected, it’s healthy to do a little detox and appreciate what’s going on in the real world away from the online community. Your network isn’t going to abandon you because you go away for a week or two or three – if you’re as obsessed as I am I, they knew you were going both 6 months and 6 seconds before you left, so they’re not surprised to see your absence. So take some time for yourself. Unplug and give yourself a break – you’ll appreciate it. Plus you’ll notice how refreshed and invigorated you are when you return. Sounds good, right?

How was everyone’s last two weeks? Did I miss anything while I was gone? Any fun gossip to share?

2 responses to “Unplugged

  1. Sage advice, my friend. But I do seem to be slightly addicted. I feel like I miss so much when I’m unplugged for only a half day!

    • I’m with you on the addiction – you don’t realize it until you get away how attached you are!

      It’s just not possible to completely see everything all the time and you already sleep, so you’re missing stuff. If you bog yourself down with what you miss, you can’t really ever appreciate what you caught. But when you take a break and come back, you can absorb things so much easier with so much more energy – it’s worth it to take a breather!

Leave a Reply

